Who’s Who

The Pilgrimage is a family made up of many, each individual member offering themselves in service of all. Our pilgrimage draws people from every corner of our Diocese; young and old, those needing assistance and those able to offer it, pilgrims coming to Lourdes to for the first time and those who come year after year. In response to Mary’s invitation to Bernadette, we come as a family to Lourdes each summer and spend a week together in prayer, fellowship and service.

Planning and stewardship of the Pilgrimage falls to the Core Group who work throughout the year to plan our week in Lourdes. The Diocesan Hospitalité Council meets regularly throughout the year to support the pilgrimage and its work, both in Lourdes and at home.

Who’s who?

Pilgrimage Leader:

The Right Reverend Seamus Cunningham, Bishop of Hexham & Newcastle

Pilgrimage Core Group

Pilgrimage Director:                    Father Peter J Stott

Assistant Pilgrimage Director:       Father Christopher Warren

Youth Section Co-ordinator:         Father Michael McCoy

Master of Ceremonies:                Father Shaun Purdy

Chaplain to the Sick:                   Reverend Peter Jones

President of Hospitalité:              Elaine Scannell

Assistant President of Hospitalité: Christine Jones

Medical Officer:                          Dr Dermot Kearney

Senior Nurse:                             Kath McTernan

Health & Safety Officer:              Christine Appleby

Safeguarding Officer:                  Claire James



Other Roles on the Pilgrimage

Director of Music:                       Father Shaun Purdy